The 10

I was reading an article in a monthly prayer magazine for missionaries. In it, there was an article that mentioned how a woman went on a short-term cross-cultural journey and enlisted in 10 people to pray for her during the duration of the trip. In light of that, I was reflecting the other day and it occurred to me that we ought not enlist prayer warriors just for special occasions, such as a short-term trip, but we should enlist prayer warriors who will pray for us on a daily or even weekly basis, because I know it can be overwhelming to bear so many prayer requests.

As a result, I think that I need to be intentional about praying for 10 people on a regular basis. I am debating whether or not creating a specific prayer guide in addition to prayer requests would be beneficial. I desire that those people would love Jesus and passionately press on to know Him. I would pray that God would direct their hearts to His and do sift them for any sin that might be “crouching at the door,” as Genesis reminds us that sin will always be lurking around. I would also include something about their relationships with others and things of the like. In praying for this 10, your group might be 7 or 5, or 12, however the Lord leads. Just know that this is intentional. You can always lift up others, but these are people to go above and beyond just a usual sentence or two.

I would also like to personally get in touch with them to let them know that I am praying for them and ask in return if they would pray for me. Not as a selfish act, so I can be advanced, but so that others will join together in asking the Lord to protect another sister from the evil one.

So in essence, this is how it looks. Write a list of 10 people to pray about, begin praying, personally get in touch with them and ask if they would intercede on your behalf as well. You do not have to tell them about “the 10,” it will be for your eyes only.

2 thoughts on “The 10

  1. I really like this idea, Emily. I think discipleship has really been swept under the rug in today’s Church and by praying for one another, you gain a burden and love to see their relationship with the LORD flourish. Good word!

    Grace and peace.

Leave a Reply

