The Forgotten Gift

“…And the unmarried or betrothed woman is anxious about the things of the Lord, how to be holy in body and spirit. But the married woman is anxious about wordly things, how to please her husband. I say this for you own benefit, not to lay any restraint upon you, but to promote good order and to secure your undivided devotion to the Lord.” 1 Corinthians 7:34-40 ESV

Paul addressed the church at Corinth in this passage, but I think it is applicable for believing women today.

Valentine’s Day is fast approaching. I have received a few Valentine’s Day gifts throughout the years. I remember one in particular was a heart-shaped perfume holder necklace from my parents. It was pretty. Most years were marked with conversation hearts, which I do not particularly care for anymore.

I have been blog hopping today and the thought struck me; I received a gift that is not material. It is the gift of being single. It also occurred to me that even though I fully understand that this is a gift, I find myself desiring to trade this gift in for the gift of marriage. This battle is not a new one for me. There have been seasons when I have been excited to be single. Then there have been seasons when I deeply desired a relationship. God blessed me with one for a few years, but at present, I am not in a relationship.

I am not looking for a man to satisfy my needs. I am not looking for happiness, but for holiness. I am not looking to be romanced, but to be brought closer to the Lord. I do not need a man to do that. I believe the desire for marriage is not a bad thing, unless you are not grateful for the gift you have been given. 

Here is where the conviction came today. God gave me this gift. It was given to me to make Him look good, for His glory and for my good. Only God knows what is best for me. Only God knows if He will give the gift of marriage and maybe even children. I have under-appreciated this gift that I have.

What grace I have received in being reminded of this today! May the Lord work change in my heart. May I be thankful for being single, may I will desire to utilize this gift to put God on display, may my trust be renewed and ultimately, may the Lord give me a deeper taste of Him.

“Every good gift is from above.” James encouraged his readers in the book of James. Being single is not bad, it is a good gift from God.

Perhaps singleness is not a gift that you have, maybe God has given you other gifts in which you, like me under-appreciate. May He work change in your life as well.

Leave a Reply

